Who Does God Love?

Who does God love?  It’s easy for us to answer, “everyone,” isn’t it?  We know the Sunday School answers.  We know that John 3:16 says that “God so loved the world…”  We can sing, “Jesus loves the little children …”  We know and believe God loves everyone.  Or do we?  We’re sure that he loves us – sometimes, that is.  Well we’re sure that he loves preachers and missionaries and nuns, that’s for sure.  They’re good.  They’re His servants.

But what about us?  What about “regular” people?  Are there unlovable people?  There are certainly people that I don’t want to love.  It’s hard for me to love lots of people, actually.  To me, that makes the fact that God loves everyone really incredible.  To be honest, when I think about it, I find it incredible that God really does love me.  He loves me for who I am.  He doesn’t love me based on the things I do, right words I say or some religious performance or height I attain.  He loves me, not for who I was or who I might become.  He loves me for who I am.  Today.  Right now.  God loves me because He loves me.  That’s how it is with God.  He loves all of us.  Everyone.  Right now.  It’s not past love.  It’s not future love.  It’s right now love.  Right now love.

 

 

One of the ways God shows His love is through other people.  He uses people as His hands and feet.  He uses ordinary people to help meet the needs of others.  There are a lot of hurting people.  There are a lot of less fortunate people.  There are people without parents, people without children; people without homes and people without food.  Normal people, though.  People just like you and me.

It’s true that actions speak louder than words.  It’s easy for us to say that God is love.  It’s quite a different thing to show someone that God loves them.  Maybe the better thing to say is, “God loves you.  Now let me show you.”  And we proceed to demonstrate the love of God by being His hands and feet, by bringing healing, by bringing simple necessities of life, by bringing food and water and shelter.  Being God’s hands and feet allows us to tell them about the love of a Savior who died for them.  We show how God loves by transcending boundaries between rich and poor, healthy and sick, by bridging the gap between them and us.

Below is a picture of some of the poorest of the poor in Colombia – a son, Dairo, and his father.  They are people like me and you – people with dreams and hopes, wants and desires.  They may be treated as outcasts of society just because of their stature and their looks or just because of the way life seems to have frowned upon them.  But they want to be loved just like you and me.  For them, eating rice and beans, if they have them, is a way of life.  Walking the streets, collecting old cardboard or other garbage to turn around and sell so they can buy basic necessities is a way of life.

 

 

So who does God love?  How does God love them?  How does God love people like Dairo?  How does God love the poor dirty kids who beg and steal?  God does love everyone … equally.  He loves the poor beggar as much as the rich Wall Street executive.  He loves the missionary and pastor and “regular” person alike.  We are all equal in God’s eyes and all equally loved.  And He uses people, just like you and me to show His love to people just like you and me. 

 

Orphans of God – Avalon

 

Jesus Loves Me – Gaither Vocal Band

 

It’s true in any language.  Maybe we should just get back to the simple basic truths of life. 

Have a good day, eat two cookies and call me in the morning.

Leave a Reply

