Wild at Heart – John Eldredge

Wild at Heart is a great book. I read it a few years ago and it has continued to impact my life.

John Eldredge is so insightful as he writes about men, who they are and why they act and do the things they do. Why do men start out as young boys making noise and banging things and fixing things and exploring? Why do men want to be heroes and rescue the fair maiden? That’s how men are wired. That’s how they’re made. Eldredge takes the reader on a journey to discover who he is and encourages men to embrace who God made them to be. If you know someone struggling with their identity or even if you know who you are, this is a great book that deserves reading.

6 responses to “Wild at Heart – John Eldredge

  1. I share Daniel Gillespie’s conclusion (in Fools Gold, edited by John MacArthur), of Wild at Heart:

    An insufficient view of Scripture; an inadequate picture of God; an incomplete portrait of Christ; and an inaccurate portrait of man.

    “Great”, “insightful” … not the adjectives I would choose to describe a book that is deeply unScriptural.

  2. cliffordthedawg

    Thanks for the comments. I haven’t read Fools Gold (I’ll have to read it, I think John MacArthur is an excellent writer and theologian, haven’t heard of Gillespie) but have heard that some people have concerns about the book.

    The book was quite helpful for me and many other people I know- that’s my point. I think men desperately need help in finding who they are and becoming more like Christ. I think this book goes some distance in achieving that and helps point men in the direction of Christ and has been very instrumental in many men’s lives in their relationship with Christ – much more so than other Christian books.

    I wasn’t referencing it as a theology book or a complete work on Scripture, God, Christ or man. Other than the Bible, I don’t know of any work that is wholly sufficient, adequate, complete and accurate. There are some things he says that I disagree with and he does have some interesting interpretations of Scripture.

    I think for all of us (at least me) who follow Christ, understanding Scripture and interpreting accurately is challenging and sometimes difficult and I wouldn’t want to lead someone the wrong way. But, for me, all-in-all I thought the book was worth reading.

  3. Pingback: Wild at Heart - John Eldredge

  4. Fool’s Gold is a good book, I hope you get a chance to read it. John MacArthur edited and co-authored it with seven other men. The main subject is discernment, and it goes through several popular books and subjects (Rick Warren’s The Purpose-Driven Life, for example). Except for the little bit of Calvinism in the book, I HIGHLY recommend it.
    God bless!

  5. cliffordthedawg

    Thanks for the rec – I’ll plan on getting it. I don’t know what he says about PDL, which I’ve read, but there are several things I disagree with in that movement. One issue I have with PDL is that churches/people decide they’re going to copy it so they can be like Saddleback. I’ve seen this elsewhere, where people try to duplicate someone else’s “program”.

  6. whatsup people
    I whole heartedly love the layout of twocookiesaday.wordpress.com. Looks good, keep it up!
    anyways..
    Im a very “faithful” christian and I guess I have a few questions on my mind..
    I’ve been thinking a lot about dating.. but im not sure where to start.
    My buddies have been telling me christian dating is the way to go.. so I’ve done a little studying on catholic singles conference and found some stuff on google
    Would be great to listen to your input.

Leave a Reply

