I’d Rather Have Jesus – Crabb Family

Good Sunday morning. There are lots of things that vie for our attention and there are lots of things in life that we seek after, hoping to be satisfied by them. We look for that satisfaction in money and material things, in success, in power, in relationships. Many times, we long for the applause and adulation that people give.

Philippians 3:7-11 reads, “But those things which were profit to me, I gave up for Christ. Yes truly, and I am ready to give up all things for the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, which is more than all: for whom I have undergone the loss of all things, and to me they are less than nothing, so that I may have Christ as my reward, and be seen in him, not having my righteousness which is of the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith: That I may have knowledge of him, and of the power of his coming back from the dead, and a part with him in his pains, becoming like him in his death; If in any way I may have the reward of life from the dead.”  (Bible in Basic English)

I think we all have a “satisfaction center” in our minds and hearts that longs to be completely filled and satisfied. That is why we constantly search for something to make us happy. When we don’t find it, we try to find something else to fill it. For me, the only thing I’ve found that truly satisfies is Jesus Christ.

You can read more about the history of this great hymn here.  I hope you enjoy the Crab Family’s version of Rhea F. Miller’s song made famous by George Beverly Shea.

Leave a Reply

