What Kind of Difference Does Jesus Make?

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.  Acts 4:13 (NIV)

What do people see when they see you?  What do they say about you?  What reaction do your words and actions draw from the people who are around you?

When you go to the barber or the hair stylist and you see your friends afterwards, they notice that you got your hair cut, that there is something different about you.  When you exercise and work out and you start to lose a little weight, people begin to notice and say you look good.  They notice your clothes fitting more loosely and see a little less belly and a little more muscle.  When you had a great date, don’t your friends notice the bounce in your step and the smile on your face?  They do.  They say you’re in love or whipped or whatever other phrase is the generation’s catchphrase.

But is it that way with your relationship with Jesus?  Do people look at you and notice the difference?  Do people see a bounce in your step and a smile on your face?  Do people say you’re in love?  Do people look astonished and amazed?

The people that were around Peter and John noticed something about them.  Though they were just ordinary, uneducated men, the unordinariness and uniqueness of Christ in their lives caused people to stop and take notice.  It sounds like it was kind of shocking.  When they had been around Jesus, they became different people.  They walked with courage, they spoke with power and they lived with abandon.  Every day they shared who Jesus is and what He had done.  And because of the change Jesus made in their lives, the effect was huge.  People wanted what they had.  It was contagious.  The church formed and grew rapidly.  And today, 2,000 years later, we’re still talking about Christ.

Today, as you go about your daily lives, spend a little time getting to know Jesus Christ, who He is and what He has done.  Learn to be more like Him.  Then, go live, and see if people notice any difference.

4 responses to “What Kind of Difference Does Jesus Make?

  1. Good blog; the born-again experience should manifest a clear distinction.

  2. What kind of Dif, you ask! Well, let me tell you…

    I was a several abused child, and I was a widow at 14. My husband died of Juvenile Diabetes. I tried several times to join him in death… my heart and soul were broken. Then, I was shot several times while in a foriegn country (caught in crossfire) I was left in the street for dead. An angel dressed as a nun, lifted me into her arms delivered my baby a month premature (the bullets missed him, barely). She held me and my son while he died. She took me many hundreds of miles by whatever means there were to get me to safety and a way to get home. When I came to, safe in my own country, I prayed long and hard. Since then, my life has done a 180…I now am in the choir, in the ministry, and am learning how to write something other than what is in my blog at the moment.

    That…THAT is quanitifiable change!

    Coyut Spirit
    (PWC Author/Artist)

  3. Wow coyutspirit, you seem to have lived a difficult life. Many people have not been able to overcome those kinds of circumstances. You have a purpose! God bless you.

  4. Yes, Penelope/Lee, that helps me understand several things.
    What an impossible story!

Leave a Reply

